Photography – Railway Yards

Hi all,

Besides making music, one of my passions is photography. It’s not something I get to do that often these days, but when I do it gives me great joy. Not just the taking of the shot, but also in editing it into something that pleases my artistic eye. I normally work in sepia and black and white as I love the use of tone, but I will occasionally throw in an odd colour shot or two if the photo demands it.

This morning I passed the old tower at my local rail yards, and thought that I better grab the camera and finally get that photo of it, instead of thinking “next time” :-)

So, I spent a bit of time snapping shots and then editing them when I got home. I hope you enjoy the results. It should appeal to both photography and train buffs :-)

You can view the full size photo just by clicking on it :-)

(All images Copyright 2014 Jamie McPherson)

Behind the Storm

Behind the Storm

Eureka

Eureka

Rust Never Sleeps

Rust Never Sleeps

Railway Yards

Railway Yards

Winged

Winged

Snails

Snails

Big Red

Big Red

Old Wall

Old Wall

Wagon

Wagon

8 Responses to “Photography – Railway Yards”

  1. Great series of photographs.

  2. great shot and color

  3. Hi Jamie,

    I’m so glad to see you acting on that impulse of your inner artist. This is a great series of photographs.
    My favourites are ‘Winged’. It’s well framed and the red mixed with the yellowing rust. It really draws the eye and a little whimsical history of the “flight” of trains barrelling down the lines.
    I like the deep contrast with the light and shadows of ‘Old Wall’ and I like the perspective you chose in “Big Red”

    It’s great to see you sharing some of your other passions along with your music. Congratulations on a wonderful set of photos I’m very proud of you! And *nudge nudge * we have an exhibition featuring photography coming up. :-)

    Yours always in love
    Tikarma
    xoxoxoxo

    • Hi Tikarma,

      Thank you so much for your lovely comments. I’m so glad you enjoyed them. Sometimes you just got to go for it! :-)

      I thought you would liked Winged. I had you in mind when I took it :-) I knew it would be a good one if I could get the framing and colour right. Same with Big Red. It was all about the right perspective and the colour.

      The wall in Old Wall and Snails had such a great contrast to it that it was begging to be photographed! I’m just glad you feel I could do it justice.

      I do enjoy indulging the visual side of me. One must never limit oneself in art. Who knows, I might be exhibiting a couple of pieces this year :-)

      Thank you always for your love and support x

      Yours always in love,

      Jamie
      ♥♥♥

  4. What a wonderful set of atmospheric photographs.

    The first one – ‘Behind the Storm’ – is just begging to be printed off and framed.

    David

    • Thank you David. I was going for atmospheric. When I saw the appropriate cloud cover, I knew it would be just right for sepia, so I grabbed the camera as I knew it would be a while before I got another chance :-)

      I’m glad you liked the first one. It is one of my favourites. Yes, I think I will do a print of that one :-)

      Thank you for stopping by for a look and comment. Beannachd leat my friend,

      Jamie

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

