Love, Served Me Chilli

Hello all,

Here are the lyrics to my latest song, Love, Served Me Chilli. It is a song of love found and lost, like all good love songs. Below the lyrics, is a short little explanation on the songwriting process. If you are musically inclined, you can view the chords for the song on the Lyrics/chords section of my website www.jamiemcpherson.com.au where you can also listen to some of my other songs and catch up with all the latest news. So, here is Love, Served Me Chilli -

Love, Served Me Chilli

Chorus

Love, served me chilli, this morning

No eggs, no bacon to fry

Love, served me chilli, every morning

Since you left and didn’t say, goodbye

She served me in a diner, in Austin

She was the prettiest little thing, I’d seen

She looked me once over, gave a laugh and poured my coffee

And said “Cowboy, where the hell have you been?”

“You’re dirty and dusty and you smell kinda bad

I bet you haven’t changed or washed, for a week

So get on out back, wash that face and comb your hair

And I’ll fix you up something special to eat”

Chorus

I went out to the washroom, cleaned up and combed my hair

Checked the mirror, then went back, to the scene

She lit up when she saw me and came in real close

And whispered “Cowboy, tell me where you’ve been?”

I’ve been out, thirty days, driving longhorn

Six months, on a rig in the sea

Sellin’ snake oil in Coleman, to your mama, don’t cha know

Where you look, now that’s where, I have been

Chorus

She laughed, bit her lip, and said “Handsome, tell me more

I love a man, that knows where he’s been

Eat your eggs, chew your bacon and drink that coffee real slow

And tell me cowboy, what have you seen?”

I worked in Houston, for them boys, building rockets

I worked in Roswell cutting up, ET

And last week, in Lubbock, I serviced your car

And honey, that’s just the start, of me

Chorus

We went home, she made breakfast, every morning

While I told her tall tales, about me

But when the tales ran out, so did my love

She left a note, addressed, to me

It said “Cowboy, it’s been fun, to see where you’ve been

You really have, entertained me

But I don’t cook my breakfast, for no honest man

So get used, to eating chilli, and beans

Chorus

Written 20th April 2012

Copyright Ó 2012 Jamie McPherson

So, what inspired the song? Well, I had the line “Love served me chilli this morning” just pop into my head. I thought it was a good metaphor for being a single man. No married or attached man would EVER be allowed to eat chilli (chilli con carne) for breakfast. There is a sadness in a man that would :-)

So, I sat down and started to write the story as it progressed in my head. The first thing I thought of was that it did have to centre around breakfast. You just can’t leave it at an opening line. So, what better way than have him find a woman who will cook him breakfast. But, what would compel a woman to do that? What would hold her there? That’s when the idea of having him tell her tall tales about himself every morning, that she would enjoy hearing and indulging in. As Tikarma rightly pointed out when I played it for her, a bit of One Thousand Nights and One Night. I didn’t think of it at the time, but it is quite true.

But, it is also a story of love lost. What could precipitate the ending of this relationship? I thought the logical thing would be that the tall tales ran out. After all, that’s what kept her there in the first place. No stories, no breakie :-)

The song needed a setting, and I thought the place most synonymous with chilli, is the state of Texas. It wouldn’t make sense to have it take place in Australia. So, all the towns and cities in the song are in Texas. I like a good geographic journey in my songs. And, of course, my sense of humour always prevails with the line about cutting up ET in Roswell. I can’t help it being a cheeky bugger :-)

So, the song is a ballad in 3/4 time. A bit of alternative country style. All up, it only took me a bit over an hour to write both lyrics, chords and melody. Just a quick flash of inspiration. Who knows when I’ll get the chance to record it, but hopefully not too far away. I picture this one with just vocals and either guitar or piano accompanying it. Well, I hoped you enjoyed the lyrics any way. :-)

Beannachd leibh,

Jamie

2 Responses to “Love, Served Me Chilli”

  1. Hi Jamie,

    What a flash of inspiration indeed! Congratulations and well done! I hope too, soon you’ll be able to get it recorded.
    I do like the concept of a guy in effect having to buy his breakfast with tall tales and yes as I said a Thousand Nights and One Night did indeed pop into my head. There is an old world whimsy in the theme and I can recall many a working man going no-where without his breakfast in the morning . They say the way to man’s heart is through his stomach, but I think for some their love is measured in bacon and eggs *cheeky grin*.
    I do agree this kind of theme doesn’t quite suit Australia, maybe next time :-) and I like your use of details in your locations. You and E.T. ohhh my, where will it lead you!? *lol*….
    Being very lucky to hear it being played I too like the rythmn of the song. It’s easy to sway to, late into the night with a last beer before heading off with your partner into the dark.

    Again, congratulations! Another great gem of a song.
    Yours always in love and with much pride in you achievements.
    Tikarma
    ♥♥♥
    xoxoxo

  2. Hi Tikarma,

    Thank you for your very lovely comment. Sometimes, when it hits, there is no stopping it! :-) Hopefully we won’t have to wait too long to get recording. :-)

    I’m glad you like the concept. It’s always good if you take something somewhere new. I think the Thousand Nights analogy was just perfect. I hadn’t thought of that.

    Yes, it does harken back to an older time when people could take the time out for a propper breakfast. Now, life is all to rush rush, and a coffee from the McDonalds drive through is all they get these days. I thought the saying from most women was “A way to a mans heart is through his chest with a big knife”? :-) But yes, it’s those things that you do for someone that shows them they are loved. Does that mean I get a fry up on the weekend? ♥

    Might have to look at something a bit more Australian on the menu next time :-) I’m glad you liked the use of the details in the locations. I do enjoy that sense of place when writing. To me it is one of the fundimentals. Part of why your poems always work so well. Hey, I saw Roswell on the map and couldn’t let that one go :-)

    I’m glad you liked the rythm of the song. Yes, I think that would be the perfect setting :-)

    Once again, thank you for your lovely comments and for all your support.

    With allmy love and pride to, always and forever,

    Jamie

    ♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

